In God We Trust

For we trust in our God and through His unfailing Love, we will not be shaken (Bethel Music).

Romans 8:31 “If God is for us, who can be against us?” 

I was driving today and saw the very common license plate with “In God we trust” printed on the bottom of the plate. In that moment, I didn’t simply read it like so many times before. I really thought about the weight of the statement. In God we TRUST.

trust (n)

firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

synonyms: confidence, belief, faith, certainty, assurance, conviction, credence, reliance

The greek word for trust is Pisteuo. Pisteuo means to have enough confidence in something to act or be willing to act on it.

The past year alone I have learned so much more about TRUST. This year has brought so many changes. I attended my last prom, I graduated, and I spent the summer trying to hold onto the few weeks left I had living at home. I was about to move 100 miles away and meet all new people which was the most exciting thought ever. But with all these changes came worry. As I packed up my room, I realized that one phase of my life was ending and a new one was beginning. All in the same 24 hours. I had to trust that I was ready for this change, and that I was ready for all of the challenges that were waiting for me in Athens. I had to trust that God would be with me through all of the highs and the lows. I had to trust that He had already gone before me.

God was with me through all of the new and amazing experiences, all of the changes, and all of the struggles. He is with me, He is for me. Even though I have failed, He has never failed. His faithfulness is amazing and I am so blessed that I have such an amazing Creator, Savior, Lord who I can fully trust. He has never given me a reason not to trust Him.

So why can we still be skeptical and worrisome toward so many things in our lives?

I worry, and I worry too much. I’ve found that in the midst of it, what helps me the most is just taking a deep breath and remembering Who holds my future and remembering that I have a Savior whom I can trust 100% 24/7. It’s something I have to personally work on every day because I so easily become consumed with worry and lose focus on Who is in control.

To trust God through it all may be hard at times with all of the obstacles and curve balls thrown at us from every angle every day. But, it to trust is SO rewarding. We get to put our hope and trust in Jesus Christ. No matter the circumstance, I am able to take a deep breath and trust in a Savior who is faithful. I see His faithfulness every day. Even when I am surrounded by doubt and worry, Jesus shows me His faithfulness.

Whatever troubles we have clouding our mind right now, whether they be big or small, we can trust that The Lord is good. And we can walk in faith. We can do the good works that The Lord has for us and trust in Him the whole time.

We will not be shaken.

Our Savior is always faithful. No matter the circumstance.. whether it be that we are facing tragedy, worrying about news we are waiting for, worrying about the future in general, or trying to get out of our comfort zone to grow further in our relationship with Christ, we can always trust.

We may not know what our future holds, but we know Who holds our future.

Leave a comment